h1

the beers of 2010.

April 15, 2010

The blog has been slow lately. We closed on our house last week and getting everything in place for that to run smoothly took up a lot of my time.  Nearly all of what little spare time we do have has been spent fighting head colds, packing up our possessions and cleaning up our apartment so that someone will actually want to rent it regardless of all the boxes everywhere. When we aren’t doing that, we’re going to see Thom Yorke two nights in a row, watching Battlestar Galactica episodes on DVD or taking a load off and rewarding ourselves at our favorite local pub. So yeah, no time for writing about Rock and bullshit lately. Its April and I haven’t yet finished spouting off about my favorite records of ’09 yet. Pretty lame to still be reflecting on those, but I plan on clicking the publish button on one more rambling post where I’ll wrap that up, covering the rest of the Rock that rocked me over the last 12-16 months. Back to rewarding ourselves at the pub…

The Craft Brewer’s Conference was in Chicago this past week. Every good brewery in this country was hanging out in town, pouring beers all over the place, literally.  If I had a bunch of cash and a bunch of time off of work, I could have easily been out at a bar or restaurant every night of the week drinking all kinds of brews I wouldn’t normally be able to get in the Chicago area. Instead, I was in the process of buying a house and writing the biggest checks of my life. I was grateful for what little cash I was able to spend on the few special brews I was able to try and happy to have a good Stone Brewing event a few blocks from our apartment at my favorite bar. I made it count.

I decided that a fun little project for this blog would be to document all the different beers I drank in the year of 2010. I originally planned on publishing it all in one big monster post around new year’s eve, but it’s already getting a bit daunting month to month…and who the hell is going to read all of that anyway? So I think I’ll post January through March and then just do a new entry around the first of each month. So here goes…

January:
Bell’s Hopslam IIPA
Boddington’s English Pub Ale
Goose Island Christmas Ale
Goose Island Honker’s Ale
Green Flash Hop Head Red
Lagunitas IPA
Samuel Adams Boston Lager
Sierra Nevada/Dogfish Head Life & Limb
Surly Furious IPA
Three Floyds Alpha King Pale Ale
Victory Yakima Twilight Ale
Founders Breakfast Stout clone (my homebrew)

February:

Adriaen Brouwer Dark Gold Belgian Ale
Dark Horse Tres Blueberry Stout
Dogfish Head Sahtea
Goose Island Green Line Pale Ale
Goose Island Mild Winter Ale
Half Acre Daisy Cutter Pale Ale
Harpoon IPA
Lagunitas IPA
Left Hand Milk Stout
New Glarus Uffda Bock
Revolution Brewing Workingman’s Mild Ale
Revolution Brewing Eugene Porter
Revolution Brewing Antihero IPA
Revolution Brewing Iron Fist Pale Ale
Samuel Adams Nobel Pils
Samuel Adams Boston Lager
Sierra Nevada/Dogfish Head Life & Limb
Sierra Nevada Glissade Golden Bock
Ska Modus Hoperandi IPA
Red Scare Hoppy Red Ale (my homebrew)
Founders Breakfast Stout clone (my homebrew)

March:
Amstel Light
Dogfish Head Aprihop
Green Flash IPA
Green Flash Imperial IPA
Green Flash Hop Head Red
Goose Island Honker’s Ale
Goose Island Mild Winter
Half Acre Ginger Twin India Red Ale
Harpoon Leviathan Imperial Red Ale
Heineken
Old Style (Yes, I had an Old Style tallboy…most of one anyway.)
Piece Dysfunctionale
Piece Wingnut IIPA
Revolution Brewing Black Power Oatmeal Stout
Revolution Brewing Coup D’Etat Saison
Revolution Brewing Iron Fist Pale Ale
Revolution Brewing Willie Scottish Wee Heavy
Rock Bottom Rye Pale Ale
Ska Modus Hoperandi IPA
St. Bernardus Abt 12 Belgian Quadrupel
Southern Tier Cherry Saison
Tecate
Three Floyds Alpha King Pale Ale
Three Floyds Dreadnaught IIPA
Three Floyds Pride and Joy Pale Ale
Two Brothers Cane & Ebel
Two Brothers Resistance IPA
Devil’s Pale Ale (a friend’s homebrew)
Founders Breakfast Stout clone (my homebrew)

Now playing: my iPod on shuffle. Fig Dish to Judas Priest to Jane’s Addiction to The Mars Volta…and so on.

Now drinking: Stone Ruination IPA after another night of cleaning and packing.

Beer/Rock Nerdism: A+.

Leave a Reply

